Success! And…It Begins

First, let’s get the food out of the way.  I made Susan V’s tofu omelette for one for, like, the 6th time and I finally, FINALLY got an omelette!!!  Made my day!  I added twice as much corn starch as the recipe calls for and a little less milk.  I also left the temperature on med-high for a bit longer.  You can’t see from my super cool picture, but there are fresh shiitake mushrooms inside this baby.

Look at that color!

 I had a can of black beans and some bananas in the freezer, so I experimented with Happy Herbivore’s low-fat black bean brownies.  Tasty and different, but I would rename them cocoa bars or something other than ‘brownie’ because they are not remotely similar.  This is a horrible picture, but if you go to Happy Herbivore, you can get a better view.  And no, they really, truly DO NOT taste like beans!

Finally, these were just too cute not to take a picture of.  Baby summer squash from the farmers’ market, roasted with onions.  Awww.

For Mother’s Day weekend I will be meeting my parents and little brother in Wrightsville Beach, outside Wilmington, NC.  I’ll be packing some fruit and nut bars, originally from Vegan Lunchbox, which are my traveling staple.  I use whole wheat flour instead of spelt and mix up the type of nuts and dried fruit, but I love these suckers.  The only downside is that they need to be refrigerated.  Suffice it to say, I don’t share well when I have my fruit and nut bars.  My brother has also requested ANOTHER Joy of Vegan Baking bundt cake.  I suppose the Orange-Blueberry Bundt Cake has become a stand-by (although I use lemon, not orange, so the name is misleading)…stick with what you know is good!  This will be the first time I’m putting it in muffin form, for easier transportation and delivery.  To my mouth.

My mother-in-law called me this week to chat.  This is unusual.  She’s a lovely lady, but one question has stuck with me and I can’t shake it: “How about you, are you healthy?  Are you getting all your vitamins and protein?”  Mind you, this was a totally random question.  Just so you know, I did my yearly bloodwork this week, and I’m getting ALL my vit-a-mins, thank you very much!  Good on B12, iron, calcium, low cholesterol…I’m a vivacious vegetarian!  Nanny nanny boo boo.  Ok, that was childish and uncalled for, but I feel contrary when I get peculiar questions like that.  And I’m still not sure what she was insinuating or what was really motivating this question, but I have my suspicions. 

So, big news for the week: I’m moving from Fredericksburg, VA to Texas!  Hopefully within the next month-ish, somewhere in the Ft. Hood area.  I’ve already joined Vegans Rock Austin and you can see I’ve added Sugar-Skull’s helpful Austin blog to my daily reading list in anticipation.  I read in the VRA forum some chick from LA complaining about what a vegan back-water Austin is since there are only 8-10 vegetarian restaurants.  Are you kidding me??  8-10 ALL VEGETARIAN restaurants, plus the flagship Whole Foods–Mecca!  Unfortunately, we will be outside Austin, but I hope to find a happy medium between the world of the U.S. Army and my home with tree-hugging crunchy granola-eating hippies.

Am I scared?  Terrified.  I’ve found so much to love about Fredericksburg and I’ve never been to Texas before.  But in the 9 years I have been with my husband (married almost 7 months), we have never lived in the same zip code together before and now is our chance to see if we really like each other.  Huh, guess we should have decided that BEFORE we put on the rings!  We met in high school, but even then lived in different towns.  So not only am I moving to a new time zone, not only am I facing imminent unemployment for the first time in 11 years, and not only am I faced with packing an entire house up by myself, but I also have to learn the habits and foibles of my dear husband.  Excited, but a little skeered!

So for the next few weeks, food posts will slow down considerably as I eat my way through my freezer of Mom soup and transition to Central Standard Time.  Wish me luck, I’ll check in occasionally.  Any tips on living in the Ft. Hood area or how to properly enjoy Austin are always welcome!  Oh boy, vegan Mexican food!  Happy happy joy joy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

