My very first post

This weekend was Snowpocalypse in the greater D.C. area.  To pass the time, I watched “Julie and Julia” and baked vegan goodies.  1) I can’t watch someone else cook without wanting to cook myself.  2) I was snowed in.  3) I like to lick the bowl.  And 4) I’ve got all these great recipes I keep collecting from various cookbooks, internet sites, and other blogs, so why not stop reading about them and try them?  As the snow came down and I got further and further cutoff from the outside world, here’s what I made.

Marc’s Sweet Potato Biscuits.  Sorry, no photo, and I won’t reprint the recipe without his express permission first, but they were basically oil, cooked sweet potato, whole wheat and oat flour, and a tad bit of sugar.  Quite dense rather than fluffy, but delish with some EarthShare and peanut butter.  Did I mention that peanut butter makes everything better????  I wanted to try out his updated recipe and also have something in the freezer that I can pull out for breakfast these upcoming weekends when I have a succession of visitors.

That was Friday.  On Saturday I moved on to sweets.  First round, the Chocolate Cake from Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s “Vegan Table”.  I was originally going to double the Chocolate Cake recipe from ” Joy of Vegan Baking”, but I’m a coffee drinker and had some extra, so I decided to go the extra mile and try it with coffee and milk instead of cold water.  Amanda, Colleen’s assistant over at www.compassionatecooks.com graciously answered my questions about doubling a recipe for a bundt cake.  I got the bundt pan as a wedding gift and I’ve needed a reason to try it out, but the original recipe is for an 8” cake.  Amanda assured me I would be ok and indeed, this is a ridiculously easy and wonderful cake.  Very moist!  I’m taking half to work, but I made some “Joy of Vegan Baking” Chocolate Sauce to put on top of the other half hidden in my freezer for an emergency!

Vegan Table Chocolate Cake, bundt-ified

I also made the Chocolate Chip Mint Cookies from “Joy of Vegan Baking”.  They were delicious, but I think I have a problem with cookies.  I followed the recipe EXACTLY, but I find that EarthShare margarine just doesn’t cream well, even when it’s at room temperature.  I’m not sure if that was the problem, but when the dough was complete and ready to be shaped into cookies, it was dry and crumbly and not dough-like.  I added a Tb or 2 of cold water and hoped for the best–alas, the cookies spread A LOT and were quite thin.  Still yummy, but not pretty.  I also think I will add more peppermint extract when I’m ready for a re-do. 

Today I shoveled out in the sunshine for a good hour or so since I had to miss my daily trip to the gym.  Risking a broken neck on potentially icy roads just wasn’t worth it, in my book.  Although it does make me antsy to see other cars driving around.  To pass the time, I tried Celine’s Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (http://havecakewilltravel.com/2007/03/10/chocolate-chip-oatmeal-cookies/) with cranberries added in as an extra oomph.  Last week I made the Maple Brown Sugar Oatmeal Cookies from 500 Vegan Recipes, but I liked these even more.  I didnt have quite enough brown sugar, so I subbed in regular, which was not a problem.  And yes, these are good with peanut butter too!

Celine's Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies, in classy tupperware

Finally, something not dessert.  I did actually eat real food, namely Quinoa Spinach soup, adapted from a www.vegetariantimes.com recipe.  I added in diced baby carrots and cauliflower florets.  Isn’t it so colorful and beautiful?  Perfect after trudging through knee-deep snow.

Quinoa Spinach Soup

So that was my weekend culinary adventure.  I’m not sure who, if anyone, will appreciate reading about what I cook and eat and my thoughts in general, but it’s something for me to do.  I enjoy reading other vegan and foodie blogs, so why not jump on the bandwagon?  In the meantime, you’ll have to excuse my poor photography skills and bear with me while I learn my way around WordPress.  Until next time…

2 Responses to “My very first post”

  1. Natalie Says:

    This is great, Erin! I think I may even try your chocolate oatmeal cookies. I must say I am impressed that you cooked so much this weekend. I was snowed in too, and only managed to re-cook frozen leftovers! And I must agree – everything IS better with peanut butter 🙂

  2. Katherine Says:

    Mm mm mm mm good! I love it! Cheers to your first step towards your traveling food show! Anthony Bourdain—move over!

Leave a Reply

