Scrambles, lunches, and Testing the USPS

This post will be followed by another, but I have several photos of recent meals and goodies that I wanted to go ahead and get up here while the spirit moves me.

Southwestern Tofu Scramble, natch

Sneaky salad with plum tomatoes and mini cucumber

What do you do with frozen tofu?  Scramble it, of course!  Everyone has their own version and I usually wing it, but base it around salsa that needs to be used up.  This particular scramble has orange bell pepper, corn, zucchini, onion, cumin, and chili powder.  I ate it with a nice big heaping scoop of hot salsa.  The salad is courtesy of Bonnie and Costco.  I shy away from tomotoes and cukes out of season, but these were gifts and they were fantastic!

Sweet and Sour Cabbage

Thank you Marc and Amelia for my crockpot!  I zoomed in on this photo of my sweet and sour red cabbage, but it was mildly off-putting, so instead you can see my modest tupperware dishes.  This cabbage gets better day-by-day, making it perfect for my work lunches.  The recipe is from Robin Robertson’s Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker (http://www.globalvegankitchen.com/FVSC_Main.html).

Minestrone with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and White Beans

One more Sunday cooking extravaganza that will provide tasty leftovers for lunch–Vegetarian Times’ Minestrone with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and White Beans.  I used peas instead of the green bean option.  Don’t you want a slurp?

Finally, I swore I wouldn’t do any baking this weekend, but I heard my little brother was jonesing for some chocolate and I’ve had this recipe on my list of things to try for awhile: http://havecakewilltravel.com/2007/09/04/chocolate-chai-snickerdoodles/.  So mine are nowhere near as pretty as Celine’s, but they did turn out better than recent cookie experiments.  I’d nearly sworn off cookies using Earth Balance.  Can’t get the darned stuff “fluffy” or “creamy” with my hand-beaters.  Dough always ends up dry and the cookies spread too much.  This time I reduced the Earth Balance a teensy bit and reduced my oven temperature a teensy bit as well.  Better, definately better.

Chocolate Chai Snickerdoodles

Honestly, I wasn’t that much of a fan, but I didn’t really care for the Spice Cookies from Have Cake, Will Travel, and my brother apparently adored them.  Ah well, always helpful to butter him up in case I ever need a kidney : )  Last time I sent him some cookies they mysteriously disappeared in the mail, so this is a test of the U.S. Postal Service.  The postal clerk later told me the envelope “probably got caught on a machine and tore and the tupperware fell out”, but I find that very suspicious, especially since the also-included note and check were still in the envelope that had been re-taped and sent on to GA.

Until soon…

Leave a Reply

