Birthday Girl Returns, No Worse For Another Year

The Birthday Girl has returned!  I don’t mind getting older, but I would like to pretend I’m 25 and holding steady, at least until I win Miss America, which has an age limit.   I believe a recap of my trip home to GA to celebrate my appearance on the planet as well as that of my little brother’s (3 years and 5 days after mine) is in order…

I flew from Richmond to Atlanta on Thursday evening.  On Friday I enjoyed a mom/daughter day with pedicures, Scott’s Antique Market (where my mumsey got me this super cool trivet), REAL Mexican food, topped off with a build-your-own salad from Mellow Mushroom and a few episodes of Blackadder with Dad.

Circa 1951

I also got to talk to my husband for approximately 25 minutes.  It’d only been, oh, 19 days without any communication, but who’s counting?  Not me!!!!!!  Only 6 weeks, plus or minus, to go.  Poor boy has poison ivy over 3/4ths of his body.  The joys of playing GI Joe.

On Saturday, I drove to Atlanta to meet my best lady, Katherine, at West Egg Cafe (http://westeggcafe.com/) and she surprised me with a bundle of kitchen goodies!  A crinkle knife, cake tester, silicon spatula, and veggie knife.  I think my husband might have issues with additional sharp objects finding their way into my paws without proper supervision, but does anyone need anything crinkle cut????  Pretty please??  How ’bout now??  For lunch, I enjoyed the tofu scramble with grits, followed by a Coca-Cola cupcake.  You know the sign of a good girlfriend get-together: you both leave thinking you talked the other’s ear off.  I only get to see my BFF every few months, and I miss her.  She came all the way from Chattanooga for our gab fest, which means a lot.  Not as much as the crinkle knife, but a lot.

I drove back south with the windows down, Z93 blaring on the radio, enjoying the sun and the wisteria and dogwoods and missing Atlanta.  Who would recognize Northside Drive in the 4 years since I’ve been away???  I know I say it EVERY SINGLE TIME, but I want to come back to Atlanta.  Sigh…for the days when I went to GA Tech and worked at The Carter Center and had no money and couldn’t afford to do anything fun or eat good food.  But moving on.  In the afternoon, Mom and I indulged in a girly shopping fest in Peachtree City.  We met up with the boys for dinner at Red Robin followed by Date Night starring Tina Fey and Steve Carrell.  The funniest and most memorable lines are not repeatable here.  Try explaining to your mother why googling “pop that c–tchie” is not acceptable to repeat to your elementary school teacher friends without getting too descriptive.

Sunday was Flip Burger Boutique gloriousness!!!!  http://www.flipburgerboutique.com/  Our waiter approaches and asks if we have any questions.  Me: “Yes, does the warm Moroccan cauliflower salad have dairy”.  Him: “Yes, in the butter sauce, but it can be made without.  Do you have a dairy allergy?”  Me: “No, vegan”.  Him: “Ohh, well we can make the cauliflower with olive oil and the special burger of the day happens to be the Gardenburger which you can get in a lettuce wrap and don’t worry about the Flip whip, it’s actually tahini sauce, not mayonnaise.”  Me: “You did all the work for me”.  He got a good tip.  And that was the BEST damn Gardenburger I’ve ever had.  I also snuck some of my mom’s tempura okra and my dad’s fries and, I’m not ashamed to admit, totally had a Nutella and burnt marshmallow milkshake and some of my bro’s banana pudding milkshake.  It was my birthday!!!!!!!!!!  Good god, it was good.  Afterwards, we stopped by the State Farmers’ Market and got some more champagne mangoes because my family ate all of mine.  I heart champagne mango season (March-July, mark your calendars!). 

In the afternoon I made another batch of PPK sweet potato blondies, this time with no nuts and actual mashed sweet potato instead of pumpkin puree.  Even better!!!!!!!  My little brother is chincey with compliments, but he made my wittle heart swell.  I made the blondies at his request so he could take them back to Athens to share with his roomate and friends.  I gave him one to taste test before wrapping them in tinfoil for transport.  Me: “What do you think?”  Brudder: ::Deep sigh:: “Well, they didn’t kill me.  I find them acceptable.”  Me: “Keeper?”  Brudder: “I wouldn’t turn them down.  Oh, and I could put the hurt on some more of that blueberry cake you made.”  This is high praise indeed.

 After a few more episodes of Blackadder and an early wake up call, I’m back in Virginia and reality.  I was ‘surprised’ by a delivery of flowers from my husband, seen here with the lilacs I “borrowed” from my neighbors’ bush.

Tomorrow, it’s back to the grind and making my own food.  4:42AM, bleck.  Oh well, the end of the rainbow is in sight!  This week I’m looking forward to the Friday library booksale preview for Friends of the Central Rappahannock Library System (with light refreshments, yippee!), a lunch with friend Drew, FBI Agent extraordinaire, and further down the road, my next family trip to Wilmington, NC.   I leave you with Little Kitty, aka Re-Re. 

My Dad's Favorite Child

Leave a Reply

