Booksale Mayhem and the Weekend in Review

On Friday evening I went to the Central Rappahannock Library’s booksale preview soiree.  I arrived on the dot at 7PM and the line was out the door.  At first, it was quite congenial–folks my age, retirees, parents with kids, all gathered to peruse and enjoy books.  However, chaos followed.  There were folks with dolleys, huge plastic tubs, handheld ISBN scanning devices, crazy people with Mom jeans, men with scary facial hair, women with skin that had possibly never seen the light of day, and old women who used their substantial girth to impede all traffic past them.  It was  a dorkfest.  And yes, I was there and realize that, by extension, I am a dork.  I only found a few books, nothing spectacular, and when I started getting the “ExCUSE me” tone, I knew it was time to leave.  So I hightailed it upstairs and helped myself to a plastic cup of cabernet sauvignon, put together a goodie plate with baked goods from the volunteers, and walked home. 

Speaking of books, one of my current reads is Jane’s Fame about how Jane Austen became one of the greatest authors of all time.  In honor of her, I’m watching the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice with Colin Firth as the hunka hunka Mr. Darcy.  I think the first time I watched it, I must have been way too young, because now it has me in stitches.  And even though I’m a happily married woman, I’d leave my husband for Mr. Darcy.  I guess that makes me a statistic.

So, some of my recent eats and treats.  I don’t pretend they’re pretty, but they were pretty good:

Orange Cauliflower With Curry Sauce

From Moosewood Low Fat Favorites, subbing silken tofu for the yogurt.  I like spicy, so I think I tripled the cayenne, belatedly realizing that the cayenne I’ve had for 2-3 years is still quite potent.  Next, Fat Free Vegan’s Omelette for One.  I love this omelette, but although I’ve made it several times, it never ever ever turns out as an omelette.  Why???  Am I not spreading it thin enough???  Is it because I just guestimate the TB of cornstarch???  The bottom is a lovely golden brown, but when I go to fold it over, it breaks and when I leave it alone, the top never cooks all the way.  Oh well, still yummy in MY tummy.  This one has swiss chard with onions.

Another from Susan at Fat Free Vegan.  Substituted thyme for ajwain and added chopped spinach.  This was a make-ahead for this week’s lunches.  Dal is one of those dishes that improves as a leftover.

The piece de resistance!  East Coast Coffee Cake from Vegan Brunch.  I don’t own it, but–sneaky sneaky–copied some intriguing recipes from the library’s copy.  I did a double-whammy, adding blueberries AND raspberry jam swirls.  Next time, I would bake it a tad bit longer and add more raspberry, but it was moist and delish.  I made the coffee cake because 1) I enjoy baking, 2) I’m trying to ‘eat down’ my pantry and freezer, and 3) I was meeting up with my friend Drew for lunch today.  Drew is a super duper secret squirrel and now that he’s moved to DC, I dont see him as often.  We met at Eileen’s, where I discovered, to my glee, that they now do lettuce wrap sandwiches.  Unfortunately, no hummus or bean spreads, but the very nice gentleman behind the counter let me know they did have avocado.  I felt kinda like a rabbit, with my sprouts and leaves, but a happy rabbit.

Part of My Bday Present From Kat--Cake Doneness Tester Thingy

And finally, what I am grateful for today–bananas, mangoes, and apples.  I eat ’em everyday.  Interesting sidenote: I did not eat bananas AT ALL until I was 25 and now I can’t live without them.  In fact, when I was little, I would flush my bananas down the toilet and my parents didn’t catch on for years until the potty finally backed up and the plunger brought up my nanner.  In fact, I was at Giant Grocery at 6AM the day the big snowstorm was supposed to hit, raiding their stock of bananas to ride me through.  On that note, what did you abhor as a kid and now you can’t get enough of?  Or, what did you like then and won’t eat now?  I can think of plenty of things I loved as a kid–Little Debbie Oatmeal Creme Pies, sausage gravy, Fritos, butter, MEAT–that I wont eat now because I know it’s the devil, but nothing comes to immediately to mind as something I just don’t like the taste/texture of.

Pyramid of Gloriousness

Sayonara Sunday.

Leave a Reply

