Still Eatin’ Down the Kitchen

Which means no grand new pictures of food, sorry.  But I did finally get to use my crinkle cutter!  Don’t you have something I can crinkle cut for you, huh huh huh???  (Thank you BFF Kat!)  Here we have a butternut squash which I turned into some tasty fries, using an herb mixture out of The Moosewood Restaurant Cooking for Health.  Yesterday, I used the other half of the squash to make a version of The Vegan Table‘s Oven Baked French Fried Yams.  You can read Chay’s review here.  As far as I’m concerned, it’s hard to screw up sweet potatoes or butternut squash and both versions were satisfying and had me licking my plate.  It’s ok, I live alone and I can do that with no shame.

Moosewood-inspired Butternut Squash Fries

Lindsay from Happy Herbivore posted this article on her Facebook page and I’d like to pass it on here.

A Man Walks Into a Restaurant…

In other news, I’ve discovered that Trader Joe’s does not exist in the state of Texas.  My kind parents are making a visit to their nearest store in GA this weekend and are taking my shopping list with them.  Now I know that there are other, perhaps better stores that I will find in Texas and I’m not going to starve to death, but the thought of not having another bag of my anti-oxidant mixed berry trail mix waiting for me when I finish this one??  Perish the thought.  They’re also going to hit up the Dekalb International Farmers Market for some bulked goods that will travel well.  It’s killing me, not being able to purchase bulk flours and beans and spices because 1) I don’t want to pack and carry them all over East Jesus and 2) I’m not sure how they would survive if we have to leave them in the back of a U-Haul in 90 degree heat for more than a day.  And again, I just have to keep reminding myself, Texas has food. 

Today was officially my last day at work and I am now effectively unemployed.  Well, technically not until the 22nd, but that’s splitting hairs.  So I clean, I pack, I pack, I clean, and I hope that I will be seeing my husband this time next week.  And then…..Texas bound!

Leave a Reply

